Emerging Theatre Award 2007

Ben Thiem
Director of Member Services and Communication
[email protected]
(312) 554-9800



CHICAGO (May 8, 2007) – The League of Chicago Theatres announced The House Theatre of Chicago as the recipient of the 2007 Broadway In Chicago Emerging Theater Award today. This is the first year of the award, which provides $5,000 and a marketing support package to an emerging theater company in the Chicago land area. Broadway In Chicago sponsors the award and has pledged support for five years.

“We look forward to celebrating the accomplishments of the House Theatre of Chicago,” said Lou Raizin, President of Broadway In Chicago. “This is a company that has created a stir both in Chicago and the nation with their distinguished productions including their critically-acclaimed The Sparrow. They embody an emerging theater and are indicative of all that makes Chicago’s theater community the envy of the country.”

“The House arrived in Chicago in 2001 desperate to be a part of this incredible family tree,” stated Nathan Allen, Artistic Director of The House Theatre of Chicago. “In the roller coaster of these first six years we have treasured the encouragement and true guidance of our heroes and mentors in the Chicago theatre community. This sense of fellowship inspired our creation and continues to inspire our work, so we are honored to accept the 2007 Broadway in Chicago Emerging Theater Award. Our humblest gratitude to all who have generously shared their spirit with us—we have needed it—and as we continue to grow we promise to pass that spirit along to others.”

Nominations for the award were accepted from late-March through mid-April. Eligible companies must be a member of the League of Chicago Theatres, have been in existence at least 3 and no longer than 10 years, and have demonstrated artistic excellence and fiscal responsibility in business practices.

A nomination committee comprised of industry professionals, educators and League board members reviewed the applications and selected eight finalists. The finalists were presented before the entire League membership for a vote in late April and The House Theatre of Chicago received a majority vote from the membership.

“The House Theatre of Chicago exemplifies the incredible emerging talent in Chicago’s burgeoning theater community,” stated Lyle Allen, Acting Executive Director of the League of Chicago Theatres. “Their unique brand of theater excites and engages audiences of all ages and we couldn’t be more thrilled that they will be the first recipients of the Broadway In Chicago Emerging Theater Award.”

The 2007 Broadway In Chicago Emerging Theater Award will be presented to the House Theatre of Chicago at the League of Chicago Theatres’ Showtime Gala the evening of Monday, May 21 at the Auditorium Theatre. Tickets to the event are $300 and are available by calling (312) 554-9800. Sponsorships and tables are also available. For more information on Showtime 2007 visitwww.chicagoplays.com.

The House Theatre of Chicago is a company of actors, directors, playwrights, magicians, dancers, choreographers, musicians, composers, designers, clowns, filmmakers and a comic book artist, who work together to create new works of popular theater. Through the theater experience, The House seeks to unite with its audience, stimulating the experience of Community among its patrons.

Founded in 2001, The House had its first major hit with The Terrible Tragedy of Peter Pan. Since that time, The House has produced 13 additional world premiere productions. With each new season of original plays, The House’s audience has grown by word-of-mouth from enthusiastic fans, and consistent critical acclaim for innovative storytelling. The House has recently closed its most successful production to date. The Sparrow garnered widespread critical and popular acclaim, selling out its original run at the Viaduct Theater, an additional six-week remount in the Steppenwolf Merle Reskin Garage Theatre and earning 10 Jeff Citation nominations. Their newest show, Hope Springs Infernal is running now at the Viaduct Theater

Founded in 1979, the League is an alliance of theaters that leverages its collective strength to promote, support and advocate for Chicago’s theater industry locally, nationally and internationally. Currently, the League serves a diverse membership of more than 195 theaters and theater companies, ranging from small storefront, non-union companies to major cultural centers with multi-million dollar facilities and productions.

The League of Chicago Theatres gratefully acknowledges the 2007 general operating support of The Alphawood Foundation, The Boeing Company, CityArts Program IV, Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs, the Illinois Arts Council, a state agency, the John D. & Catherine T. MacArthur Foundation, Illinois, Mile After Magnificent Mile in corporation with the Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity/Bureau of Tourism and The Shubert Foundation. For complete information about the League of Chicago Theatres, visit chicagoplays.com.